Not Today Satan

By 7:30am this morning I needed a Dr. Pepper (DP) something fierce. DP is my go to when I’m stressed out. I LOVE me some DP. At approximately 6:12 this morning the tire of my tractor swiped the concrete mount of a fence post while I was feeding the cattle in the feedlot. I didn’t even realize I had done it; I couldn’t even feel it. I make that pass twice a week on my feed rounds. If you look at the tire there you can see the mark where several graduate students have scraped the side of the tire, it just happened to pop with me. At 7:15 I realized I had a flat tire. Yay.

Sometimes it’s a bad day. That’s all it is, a bad day. I fall into this rut when things are somewhat rough where I am just exhausted, mentally and physically. Then, I remember a conversation my dad and I had on the first day of my senior year in college:

Dad: How was your day?

Me: Eh, fine I guess.

Dad: Shiann, life isn’t that bad.

It was so simple, but it stuck with me. It kind of slapped me in the face and woke me up. Life is what you make it and honestly it isn’t that bad.

About the time the tractor tire popped is when I realized Satan was attacking me and he had been all week. Through a series of emotionally exhausting events Satan had managed to get me very discouraged, then I thought, “If Satan is attacking me then I must be doing what God wants me too, why else would Satan try to steer me away?” That has given me some encouragement to keep praying and following God even as it gets difficult. God never promised us that following him would be easy, only that it would be worth it. Sometimes life is just hard; thank goodness we have an awesome God.

Several days before this happened I told Satan that he was no longer allowed in my life, he must have laughed and said, “I’ll show you.” But I hope God said the same about me as he said about Job, “Have you considered my servant Shiann?” (Job 1:8) I had been praying for confirmation, this morning Satan showed me that I was following His path. Instead of deterring me, Satan momentarily discouraged me and, oddly enough, encouraged me to continue on this path. He may have gotten me down, he may even keep trying but my God is big and I have faith that he’ll help me pull through.

“For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, is working for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory, while we do not look at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen. For the things which are seen are temporary, but the things which are not seen are eternal.” 2 Corinthians 4:17-18

Leave a Reply

